Senior Secondary Music Task 2: Update #4

I am pleased to say that I have finished creating my iBook! All that remains for this assessment now is to draw up at least 6 accompanying lesson plans.

Here’s a few images of the finished iBook:

Screen Shot 2016-05-14 at 4.20.44 PM.png

Screen Shot 2016-05-14 at 4.23.55 PM.png

One of the difficulties that I encountered was the compatibility between Keynotes and iBooks Author. Using the widget, you can embed your keynote within your iBook for interactivity except that you must have low expectations of the functionality. I found that the Magic Move transition poorly translated to iBooks and for some reason only worked when progressing backwards through my keynote using the red arrow. Fortunately (even though my keynote was set to ‘links only’) I was able to progress forwards through the book without the forward arrow I had created (why??) AND experience the animations that I wanted. But not with my specified red forward arrow link.

So my work around was delete the forward arrow I created and use the page to navigate through the keynote smoothly with nice animations. I know I’m stubborn, but I wanted a nice user experience!

Onto a real dilemma. I found it quite a challenge developing score analysis scaffolding within the format of an iBook with the potential to be used as a self directed learning experience. I did not want to give away all the important musical content without students having the opportunity to study the score and discover some of it themselves. Consequently in my iBook, I have tried to create a way forward with a happy medium approach. This way students are prompted to look at particular aspects of the score to discover for themselves the various features.

Bye

Leave a Reply

