Senior Secondary Music Task 2: Update #1

This semester, we have been focussing on Stage 6 learning, which is the Year 11 and 12 courses in the NSW Syllabus. For my next assignment, I must create a unit of work on the mandatory topic which is Music of the Last 25 Years – with an Australian Focus. The catch is that I have to create all the required resources, so here I am blogging the process.

I have been brainstorming a lot of ideas recently and I am hoping to create a unit that is student centred and some what self directed, allowing students to take control of their own learning and to develop skills in time management as well as analysis, performing, composition and aural skills.

I am planning on basing my unit around the works of the Australian composer, Ella Macens. Ella is currently enrolled in the Masters of Composition at the Conservatorium of Music in Sydney and can be found on Facebook and Soundcloud.

The image you can see below is a resource that I am hoping will appear as a widget in an iBook or as an additional app. Hype is the application that I am using and it enables users to create Html files without the knowledge of coding that can then be embedded on websites or iBooks etc. It has been stretching for me to learn yet another software program, but I am hoping to use it more in the future in my teaching.

This resource is ‘concept’ based and will feature key/helpful terms and words for each concept to help build students’ musical understanding. It aims to be a memory jogger when looking at a piece of music to analyse and a reminder of things to consider when facing potential exam questions.

Screen Shot 2016-05-08 at 12.57.33 PM.png

Learning how to use Hype has involved watching a few Youtube videos (but thankfully not as many as I anticipated!). The main thing I needed assistance with was the recording function, as I am used to recording in real time (with audio). However in Hype, once you hit the record button, you then move the timer curser along to your desired point (how long you want the animation to go for) and then move your object. Make sure you turn off the record feature again, otherwise you will animate a lot more than you intended!

To make each layer function smoothly, I had a new scene for each concept of music. I grouped the Green Square and the word Pitch and turned it into a button that linked it to is related information page. Once clicked, it immediately transitions to the Pitch page and I animated the other boxes to move out of the way, whilst fading in the information. I did this for each concept.

Leave a Reply

