Interactive Music Installation Tech in Music Ed Task 2: Update #5

Really excited to share that I am finished working on my installation and have also completed the visuals in Mainstage. Here’s a look!

Screen Shot 2015-11-13 at 8.38.07 AM

Using the layout menu in Mainstage, I was able to make the page you see above. As I play the different sounds from the Guitar Hero Guitar and Wii Balance Board, the on screen controls will also move – pretty cool! The squares on the top represent the coloured buttons on the Guitar Hero Guitar and are also coloured to match. On the right shows the volume levels of both the dishwasher and thunder strike sounds. Below is a pitch shift gauge and the backing track playback (blue). The squares resembling the Wii Balance Board light up when you stand in the corresponding places on the actual Wii Board and the X and Y Pad on the left show the Left and Right delays as I control them with the Joystick.

I had a practice run yesterday and all was running well so that’s good. Hoping I don’t run out of batteries on the night but I’ve bought some extras just in case.

Accompanying my installation, I’ve made some instructions so people aren’t completely lost when they have a go.

Screen Shot 2015-11-13 at 9.04.26 AM

Hope to see you there!

Peace – Jonno

Leave a Reply

