Interactive Music Installation Tech in Music Ed Task 2: Update #4

This afternoon I made the decision to only focus on using the Guitar Hero Guitar and the Balance Board as Midi controllers for my installation. There were plenty of buttons and features to utilise on the guitar that I hadn’t yet mapped and I also wanted to simplify the interaction experience for any participants.

Screen Shot 2015-11-11 at 9.12.06 PM

The picture above shows a selection of the instruments (with effects) from Genesis that I have mapped to control from the Guitar Hero Guitar and Wii Balance Board. As you can see, I have added a Tremelo effect and a Pitch Shifter in the Vox Channel and I have also added a limiter to the ‘Gurgles’ to prevent them from clipping. Both the Tremolo and Pitch Shift effects are bypass-able by pressing their corresponding buttons on the Wii Remote inside the Guitar. Button ‘1’ toggles the pitch shift effect, and that can then be controlled by the Whammy Bar and Button ‘2’ toggles the Tremolo effect on and off. This is to create some extra textures and experiment with.

The sound that I am most pleased with is the Thunder. In the recording of Genesis, the thunder rolls in and out with many varying strikes. I still wanted quite a selection of strikes at my disposal for the installation and so I learnt via Music Tech Help Guy (by the way his videos are really great) on Youtube how to alternate different audio samples within the Logic EXS 24 Sampler Instrument. Now I have 5 different lightening strikes mapped to each of the two black buttons (+ and -) on the Guitar Hero guitar. I unchecked the ‘Pitch’ selection so no matter what note I map them to, they will still sound the same. From there I moved them up high on the keyboard so I wouldn’t trigger them with any other buttons, intending to play other sounds.

Screen Shot 2015-11-11 at 3.01.23 PM

So this next picture (below) is of the Sample Delay effect for the instrument that I’ve named ‘Dad’. It’s called that because I sampled my Dad’s impressive tongue clicking skills and they sound really cool with a delay effect on them. Mapping the Right and Left delays to the X and Y axis on the Joy Stick found on the Guitar Hero Guitar (through OSCulator) I am able to control this delay on the go. It’s really cool (I also secretly love just watching the little sliders move as well).

Screen Shot 2015-11-11 at 10.15.03 PM

I then linked this up neatly with an X and Y Pad on the Workspace in Mainstage to make it look pretty. There isn’t any function here really, but the visual cue helps understand what effect it’s having as you change it in real time. The X and Y pad is below on the left and the little dot moves around as the Joystick does.

Screen Shot 2015-11-11 at 9.11.20 PM

The big blue strip along the bottom shows the Playback audio (but at the start is fairly quiet so that’s why it looks bland). I plan to edit and add more features to the Workspace soon.

And here’s a picture showing all the mapping that I have now completed.

Screen Shot 2015-11-11 at 9.11.49 PM

Since I last posted, I’ve decided to sign up and do a demonstration performance of my installation, performing Genesis live – so that should be pretty fun!

And here’s a video of how it was working before I added in all these extra instruments! Hope you enjoy!

As always, if you have any questions or comments please go for it.

Blessings – Jonno

Leave a Reply

