Composition in Music Education Task 3: Update #6

I am really pleased to be able to say that I have finished the scoring of Homecoming! Apart from drums, I would probably say that guitar notation is up there on being one of the most interesting/difficult instruments to notate for. I settled for a kind of hybrid notation between a music score and a lead sheet.

Here’s what I mean:

Guitar Notation Sample

It looks a little cluttered here as I wanted to show you both of the two main strumming patterns in the piece. At the start of the score I’ve created a little key stating what the arrows mean but essentially it’s this: Down arrows are down strums and up arrows are up strums. Having notated the rhythm and provided the chord shapes, there should be enough information there to play what I intend on a normal acoustic guitar.

Here’s a sample of what the final score looks like with all the parts together (just before the final chorus):

Homecoming - Score Sample

In both the piano and the guitar parts, I’ve provided the chords above the music. This is so that if I ever use this piece in a classroom setting, students who cannot read music well, can follow the chords. Also, the instrumental lines could be transposed for any melodic instrument that might in the class.

I think it is safe to say that on the face of it, there is little resemblance between Pastance’s Skye Boat Song (which was the basis of the composition task that is in my iBook) and Homecoming. Of course the chords, structure and the key are (that was the task), but it is now an original composition in it’s own right. I hope you enjoy it.

If you have any questions or anything you’d like to add, feel free to comment below.

Peace – Jonno

Leave a Reply

