Composition in Music Education Task 3: Update #4

I have officially finished the recording process! Hooray! I’ve uploaded it to Soundcloud so feel free to have a listen and let me know what you think.

Now I have to clarify quite clearly that the piece is exactly 3:00 minutes in length, but when I bounced the final track from Logic it added an extra second of silence which is not part of my composition. So I am still within the requirements!

So how did I finish? Well I had already decided on the structure (see last post) and had a rough idea of what I needed to do to complete it. I knew I needed some backing vocals and some instrumental lines and so I asked my mate Phil over to record the BV lines as he has a great range and I preferred a different vocal quality for those parts also. I am really pleased with them as they really fill out the overall sound and add lots of presence. Once we finished tracking those, we recorded the Flugelhorn and Trombone lines. I decided against adding a saxophone line as after hearing all the parts together, I felt as though there was no need for the extra layer and I was concerned about cluttering the arrangement.

Here’s a pic of the latest tracks and where they appear in the comp. On the left you can see the label for each part:

Screen Shot 2015-11-03 at 8.02.40 PM

You can see that there are 3 extra vocal harmony lines and an additional 3 ‘Ahhh’ vocal lines as well. I was inspired by ELO’s amazing backing vocals for the ‘ahhhs’.

As it turns out I was able to subtly slip in the melody of Skye Boat Song. During the last chorus in the Backing Vocals, the harmony part follows the same outline as the main chorus melody of Skye Boat Song. The words are ‘Thank-ful-ly I’m Fin-‘lly Home…‘ But it’s different enough that I don’t feel as though I’m directly ripping it – which is good.

There will be an update soon on the notation process.

Peace – Jonno

Leave a Reply

