Technology in Music Education Task 2: Update #1

Hi Everyone,

For our next Technology in Music Education assignment, we are to pave our own way – a DIY kind of assignment. Basically I get to choose what I want to do for this entire assignment, as long as I document my progress here on my blog. The catch is that it has to be technology based (who would have thought).

If you aren’t aware, for most of my life I have been a bit of a Nintendo fan boy and so I’ve decided to try and combine my love for that and my love for music. I’m not planning on composing any video game music, but I’m going to be focussing on this little idea:

‘What if you could play music like you play a video game??’

Using a program called OSCulator, I’ll be able to use my Nintendo Controllers as MIDI controllers with any DAW such as Logic Pro X/Mainstage or Ableton. This will enable me to map the various buttons (and motion control!) to different musical notes, instruments or effects. This works because (believe it or not) the nintendo controllers just connect simply via Bluetooth which means not only could I connect those, but I’ll also experiment with connecting and mapping my iPhone to the various music parameters.

I’m pretty excited to try all of this out, I’ll keep you updated as I go.

Leave a Reply

