My First Original Pop Song – Hope

Last semester I did a subject called Popular Music Studies where, surprise surprise, we looked at.. Popular Music! But seriously if you think that’s dull, I’d like for you to comment below and tell me what your definition of Popular Music is – consider that a challenge. For our last assignment in the subject we had the chance to choose one of four different options:

  1. Create our own arrangement of a song
  2. Compose an original song
  3. Create a remix
  4. Make a suave tutorial video on how to play a particular song

I actually started out (under the impression that I couldn’t write) with the idea of creating a Vocoder arrangement of King’s Kaleidoscope’s Fix My Eyes, similar in style to that song called Hide and Seek by Imogen Heap. Soooo that didn’t work out like I would’ve hoped. Basically it was a cool idea, but I couldn’t get it to sound like I wanted. I was at my mates place one Saturday night working on his dope arrangement of Don’t Dream It’s Over by Crowded House and we decided that after a bit of dinner with Bret McKenzie and Jemaine Clement from Flight of the Concords, that we would try and resurrect my arrangement. Yep. Didn’t quite work either, and at about 10:30 that night we gave up and thought, ‘Why don’t we try something new?’. So we grabbed all our recording gear, my synth and his mic and went down stairs into his family room and recorded the things we could see. We ended up making a cool beat with weird objects, like a fold up chess set, a cushion, a metal peacock and (my favourite), some tissues… By the time we finished (12:30am), it was definitely time I went home and got some sleep. However, I went home with a head full of new ideas for this new creation! By the following Thursday or so I’d managed to finish my first song, which I am still fairly pleased with. I am by no means a singer or a music producer, but I think I managed to get an okay mix. Let me know in the comments if you have any expert opinions/advice on it if you like. Here’s the finished product, hope you enjoy.

Also King’s Kaleidoscope is a great band – really, really creative. Here’s Fix My Eyes, which is the song I was going to try and make a cover of:

And here’s a cover (that in my opinion is better than the original) of Hide and Seek:

2 thoughts on “My First Original Pop Song – Hope

  1. Hey Jonno, just thought I’d say that your PMS song was my favourite out of everyone’s I heard. It has such an awesome indie vibe which I dig. Keep it up and continue posting on soundcloud! 😀

    Like

    1. Hey man! That’s so kind of you. I’ve been trying to work on something in a similar style in the holidays but only have a loose structure or so at the moment. Now uni is back on again I might have to put it on hold. We will see..

      Like

Leave a Reply

